D2R Patch 2.5 - Terror Zones

29.08.2022 - 12:06:23
D2R Gameplay Guides , Diablo 2: Resurrected , Game Guides

D2R Patch 2.5 - Terror Zones

Public Test Realm is now live for Diablo 2 Resurrected Patch 2.5. The new patch will introduce fresh endgame playing options for new players by implementing Terror Zones.


What are Terror Zones?

Terror Zones will be the new endgame content to bring variety for levelling. Previously, farming Baal, Diablo and Nihlathak were the only options to gain XP at high character levels (lvl95+). By farming Terror Zones, now you will quickly be able to level up your characters.

The monsters in these zones will be at least 2 levels higher than your character, or their original level up to a maximum per difficulty. Item drops and XP Gain will be based on new monster levels. As an extra, Terrorized Monsters will also provide additional XP. The levels of monsters for each monster type and difficulty are the following:


Base: +2 levels up to level 45

Champion: +4 levels up to level 47

Unique: +5 levels up to level 48



Base: +2 levels up to level 71

Champion: +4 levels up to level 73

Unique: +5 levels up to level 74



Base: +2 levels up to level 96

Champion: +4 levels up to level 98

Unique: +5 levels up to level 99


The monster levels will be based on the character level of the game creator. If the host leaves, a new player will be selected to determine monster levels in terrorized zones.

You will receive information on which areas are terrorized by a chat box message once you created a game. Terrorized monsters will also receive a new icon to their names, while on-screen message will be displayed that you entered a Terrorized Zone. In-game text to the automap will also be added alongside a special audio queue.


Every hour, a new Terror Zone will be selected in the game from the following areas:

Act I

  • Blood Moor and Den of Evil
  • Cold Plains and The Cave
  • Burial Grounds, The Crypt, and the Mausoleum
  • Dark Wood
  • Black Marsh
  • The Forgotten Tower
  • Jail
  • Cathedral and Catacombs
  • Tristram
  • Moo Moo Farm


Act II

  • Sewers
  • Rocky Waste and Stony Tomb
  • Dry Hills and Halls of the Dead
  • Far Oasis and Maggot Lair
  • Lost City, Valley of Snakes, and Claw Viper Temple
  • Harem and Palace Cellar
  • Arcane Sanctuary
  • Tal Rasha's Tombs



  • Spider Forest and Spider Cavern
  • Flayer Jungle and Flayer Dungeon
  • Lower Kurast
  • Kurast Bazaar, Ruined Temple, and Disused Fane
  • Kurast Sewers
  • Travincal
  • Durance of Hate


Act IV

  • Outer Steppes and Plains of Despair
  • River of Flame
  • Chaos Sanctuary


Act V

  • Bloody Foothills
  • Frigid Highlands
  • Glacial Trail
  • Crystalline Passage and Frozen River
  • Arreat Plateau
  • Nihlathak's Temple, Halls of Anguish, Halls of Pain, and Halls of Vaught
  • Ancient's Way and Icy Cellar
  • Worldstone Keep, Throne of Destruction, and Worldstone Chamber


PTR  for Patch 2.5


The goal of the present PTR is to test the fresh content, namely the terrorized zones. Upon entering the PTR character select, you will be able to choose from a variety of pre-geared characters with which you will be instantly able to play any content in the game. Once the PTR experimentation is concluded, a new Ladder Season will be launched shortly after.

Alongside the Terror Zones, plenty of bug fixes and quality of life changes will be introduced to the game.

Have fun testing and playing the new content, and we are looking forward to see you in the next ladder season ;)

If you are tired of farming for endless hours, you can quickly buy the best items at our D2R Store.

Relevant Products

Share this content:

You must be logged in to add a comment

Click here to log in

Add a comment